Voted, schmoted: I’d much rather be able to say “I vetoed.”

Of course, I wouldn’t want to serve as president to get official veto powers.

And yet, the official is not the only avenue open; in many way, I can say I “veto with my feet.” Sometimes we have to “just say ‘no’ to government.”

It’s not always practical to do so. I’m not a survivalist or a social separatist. And yet there are ways of avoiding centers of power and target areas for government regulation. Each would-be free person must figure these ways out for him- or herself. As Robinson Jeffers wrote, “Corruption never has been compulsory; when the cities lie at the monster’s feet there are left the mountains.”

The cities in the plain are more enticing, I know. But they are more stressful, in part because of government’s monstrous feet.

